Annual Events

Pride Niagara celebrates and honours theses Niagara UNITY Awards recipients! They’ve made a positive impact for our LGBTQ+ community within the Niagara Region.

2014 Recipients
  • The Ed Eldred Award: Cathy MacKenzie – PFLAG Niagara
  • The Johnathon Crawford Award: Shannon Unrau – AKA Nathan Drake
  • Community Involvement Unity Award: AIDS Niagara
  • Volunteer Excellence Unity Award: Justin Preston – Rise Against Bullying
  • Outstanding Young Person Award: Adam Coleman -ENVY Lounge
  • Outstanding School or Gay-Straight Alliance Award: Brock Pride
  • Commitment Unity Award: The Lancer Family Restaurant
  • LGBTQ+ Positive Business Unity Award: ENVY Lounge
  • Community Culture Unity Award: Brandie Lancione – District School Board of Niagara
  • Best Performance of the Year Award: Shannon Unrau – Nathan Drake Productions
2015 Recipients
  • The Ed Eldred Award: Sarah Burtch – Positive Living Niagara
  • The Johnathon Crawford Award: Lorne Gretsinger – Hamilton Gay Mens Chorus
  • Community Involvement Unity Award: Rise Against Bullying
  • Volunteer Excellence Unity Award: Betsy Tauro – Beamsville District Secondary School
  • Outstanding Young Person Award: Zander Meister – ZeeTransendence
  • Outstanding School or Gay-Straight Alliance Award: Grimsby Secondary School GSA
  • Commitment Unity Award: Meridian Credit Union
  • LGBT+ Positive Business Unity Award: BBBlooms Floral Studio
  • Community Culture Unity Award: The City of St. Catharines
  • Best Performance of the Year Award: Hamilton Gay Mens Chorus – Spring Concert


2016 Recipients
  • The Ed Eldred Unity Award: Ken Leavoy
  • The Jonathon Crawford Unity Award: Sean Parkinson
  • Community Involvement Unity Award :House of MNSM
  • Volunteer Excellence Unity Award :Brian Hay
  • Outstanding Young Person Unity Award :Justin Preston
  • Outstanding School/Gay-Straight Alliance Unity Award : Laura Secord Secondary School
  • Commitment Unity Award: TD Canada Trust
  • LGBT+ Positive Business Unity Award : Mahtay Café
  • Community Culture Unity Award : Phil Gourlay
  • Performance of the Year Unity Award :Shannon Unrau

2017 Recipients

  • ED Eldred Unity Award: Ted Mouradian
  • Jonathon Crawford Unity Award: Kyle Miller
  • Community Involvement Unity Award: Scott dePass
  • Volunteer Excellence Unity Award: Michael Thomson
  • Outstanding Young Person Unity Award: Jessica Victoria                                        
  • Outstanding School Gay-Straight Alliance Unity Award: Ridley College Positive Space Group
  • Commitment Unity Award: Lancaster, Brooks & Welch LLP
  • LGBT+ Positive Business Unity Award: Hernder Estate Wines
  • Community Culture Unity Award: Dennis Eveleigh
  • Performance of the Year Unity Award: Niagara Women’s Drum Group Linda Hampton 

2018 Recipients

  • The ED Eldred Award – Shane Antonio
  • The Jonathon Crawford Award Answered: – Kathleen Driscoll
  • The Community Involvement Award: – Positive Living Niagara
  • The Volunteer Excellence Award: – Ray Hayhurst
  • The Outstanding Young Person Award: – Lacey Cooper
  • The Outstanding School/Gay-Straight Alliance Award – Saint Francis Catholic Secondary School
  • The Commitment Award Answered- Dignity Memorial
  • The LGBT+ Positive Business Award – Barber Will Barbershop
  • The Community Culture Award Answered: – Transgender Niagara
  • Performance of the Year Award: – Patrick Alexander


Pride Niagara values all of the of individuals and group efforts in the continued journey of making the Niagara Region a fantastic place to live for the LGBT+ community. BRAVO!